Thriving on a Plant-Based Diet

My second article is live on http://www.myfitstation.com.

“I’ve found I’ve thrived more on a plant-based diet than my previous omnivorous diet because my food choices have drastically increased. I find myself craving foods I’ve never liked or would have never eaten in the past like beans, peas and spinach to name a few…

I maintain a healthy relationship with food because I mostly see food as fuel and I don’t beat myself up mentally if I find myself eating a cookie or two, or ten. Those exceptions are rare and I listen to my body and it’ll usually tell me “hey that wasn’t good, you’re going to feel like crap now”.

I trust my body - plant based diet

Body image was always an issue for me starting in middle school. I wanted to be thin[er] like some of the girls in higher grades. I wanted to be pretty like them (by that time I had hit puberty and had terrible acne). I would buy tons of makeup products and facial washes actually thinking “this is it, I’m going to be as pretty as them”. I would skip out on desserts in hopes of having thin arms and thin legs. NOTE: I never had an eating disorder growing up. I spent so much time constantly worrying about that.”

Read more for recipes here: Thriving on a Plant-Based Diet.

Leave a Reply

